Karma Kitchen.

I haven’t written in a while because I’ve been so busy saying ‘yes’ to things. It’s been exhausting in that spent the whole day outside in the sun doing things and having fun kind of way.

So, a few weeks ago I went to an event called Karma Kitchen. Karma Kitchen is an organization that was founded in Berkley, CA and has expanded to most major cities in the US. The whole premise is to pay it forward. So, when you get the bill for your meal, it’s $0.00, your meal has been paid for by someone who dined before you. Then, they ask that you take that and choose a way to pay it forward yourself – either by paying for someone else or any other act of kindness you deem appropriate.

Karma Kitchen volunteers ask you to discuss a theme after you sit down. The theme when I went was ‘from isolation to community’. I recently re-read a book that touches on the same general principle (The Geography of Nowhere by James Howard Kunstler), so the discussion was very timely for me.

The whole experience was very inspiring – reminding me of a lot of things I already knew and bringing those concepts back to the top of my mind. This event will definitely become part of my monthly plans.

If you are interested in checking out Karma Kitchen or starting a chapter in your town, more information can be found here.

Leave a Reply

